July 19, 2024

Imodoye Writers Residency unveils 5th cohort in Ilorin

  • July 11, 2024
  • 3 min read
Imodoye Writers Residency unveils 5th cohort in Ilorin

By Editor

IMODOYE Writers Enclave, a renowned creative writing hub and writers’ residency in Ilorin, Nigeria, founded by the current President of the Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA), Dr. Usman Oladipo Akanbi, has announced the unveiling of its 5th cohort of residents at an event which held on July 1, 2024. Imodoye Writers’ Enclave, aim of fostering community-focused initiatives in writing, reading, and critical thinking through different programmes, emerged from a commitment to creating a supportive and conducive environment that empowers writers to finish their ongoing writing projects.

The founder, Dr. Akanbi, emphasised that the purpose of the event was to unveil and inspire talented creative writers to complete their ongoing projects while providing them with a friendly environment to write and other literature-related activities all at no cost. He also included that the residents are entitled to weekly stipends. Drawing inspiration from his late father’s commitment to supporting the community, Dr. Akanbi, an Agricultural Economist, expressed his belief that the programme would ignite interest in writing and establish a blueprint for the growth of literature in Kwara state, and indeed the entire country.

Arike Priscilla Adesina, Amadi Ekwutosilam Njoku, Saka Wasiu Laide, and Fadairo Tesleem were the four writers selected for the 5th cohort of Imodoye Writers Residency. Adesina said she firmly upholds the belief that stories hold the potential to reshape society, adding that she would employ her literary talents to vividly portray the human experience. Adesina won the award for the 2023 Women Short Story Prize and was also awarded The Best Student Writer on Campus in recognition of her writing talent. She is the author of The After Party, a collection of short stories about teenage crises. She served as the librarian at the Hilltop Creative Art Foundation for two years and actively participated in the activities of Association of Nigerian Authors. She is also a member of the Abuja Literary Society. Beyond her love for writing, she is a dedicated thespian.

Img 20240711 Wa0005

The 5th cohort of writers: Amadi Ekwutosilam Njoku (left); Fadairo Tesleem; Saka Wasiu Laide and Arike Priscilla Adesina

Njoku is a prolific writer and educator with a diverse range of literary and educational accomplishments. He hails from Amasiri, Afikpo North, Ebonyi State, and is known for his work as a poet, award-winning novelist, playwright, short story writer, culture and literary essayist, critical analyst, and managing editor at Africa Press Chamber (APC). He also serves as the editor of Authentic Authors and Poets magazine (AAPM) and works as a preceptor. He is the author of The Invincible Will.

Laide is a multifaceted professional – an author, lecturer, and chartered marketer and manager – with expertise spanning both Nigeria and the United Kingdom. He has authored an impressive array of over 60 books. In addition, he serves as an Academic Mentor at the prestigious Tony Elumelu Foundation in Lagos, Nigeria, and the Queen Elizabeth Jubilee Trust in London, UK. Also unveiled was Tesleem, a Nigerian poet and a member of The Poetic Collective. He currently works with Rowayat as a poetry editor and Consequence Forum as a poetry reader. He tweets @_olakunle.

These talented writers are expected to spend at least three weeks at Imodoye Writers’ Enclave for their residency, diligently working on their manuscripts to bring their creative visions to fruition. Also, present at the unveiling was a board member of Imodoye Writers Enclave that included Mr. Dunmoye Ayobami and the manager of Imodoye Writers’ Enclave, Mr. Issa Mutolib Ayobami, literary enthusiasts, and distinguished individuals representing various fields of expertise and walks of life.

Spread this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *