May 25, 2024

Longlist for James Currey Prize for African Literature 2023 out

  • August 15, 2023
  • 2 min read
Longlist for James Currey Prize for African Literature 2023 out

By Editor

THE 2023 edition of the James Currey Prize for African Literature received over 80 entries from African writers spread across East, West, Central and Southern Africa, out of which 51 that met the rules progressed to the assessment stage by the jury chaired by Henry Akubuiro. It has the following as members: Nneoma Otuegbe, Tatiana Cassiano, Kakwenza Rukirabashaija, Javier Gutierrez Lozano, Debbie Edwards and Masande Ntshanga.

A statement signed by the jury chair, James Currey Prize for African Literature 2023, Henry Akubuiro, said the jury is impressed with the overall quality of entries recorded this year, a reflection of the diversity of Africa’s storytelling tradition. The stories by these talented novelists pay witness to the postcolonial African condition, mystery and subaltern lives, told with flair and panache. In delving into realities beyond the familiar, some of these narratives leave the reader awestruck in a manner that reminds us that the next generation of ingenious African storytellers is waiting in the wings, if not here already.


In no particular order, the longlist of 11 for the 2023 James Currey Prize for African Literature include Black Fractures in Exile by Limpho Sechele, Bolga by Bus by G.A. Agambila, The Night Wing by Oluwaseun Beatrice Wende, Kindred Beyond by Chidubem Iweka, A Dangerous Job for a Woman by Pat Brickhill, Girl Generation by Zainab Suileman, and The Legend Beach House by Peter Njeri. Others are The Remnant by Tariro Ndoro, Ominla by Olatunbosun Taofeek, Akala by William Moore, and Azogini by Chuks Iloegbunam

A shortlist of five will be announced on August 20, 2023, while the winner will be declared on September 3, 2023 in Oxford at the James Currey Literary Festival, scheduled from September 1through 3, 2023.

Spread this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *